“Servus” from Bavaria, Germany!

As I said I would, here are some pictures from my wonderful trip to Germany  in and around Munich.

My brother and me wearing "Lederhosen" and "Dirndl" (traditional Bavarian costumes) for a festival

My brother and me wearing “Lederhosen” and “Dirndl” (traditional Bavarian costumes) for a festival

A giant pretzel

A giant pretzel

"Lebkuchen", or gingerbread in the shape of hearts, at the festival

“Lebkuchen”, or gingerbread in the shape of hearts, at the festival

"Prost"!!

“Prost”!!

A whole roasted ox on a stick...served on a roll with gravy: best thing ever

A whole roasted ox on a stick…served on a roll with gravy: best thing ever

Me and my little brother at the Munich zoo

Me and my little brother at the Munich zoo

Munich: the Rathaus

Munich: the Rathaus

The food market at the Viktualienmarkt in Munich

The food market at the Viktualienmarkt in Munich

"Pfifferlinge", or chanterelles, a typical German specialty that's only fresh for a few months

“Pfifferlinge”, or chanterelles, a typical German specialty that’s only fresh for a few months

Some more different kinds of mushrooms

Some more different kinds of mushrooms

You can get basically anything at this market...including pig heads!!

You can get basically anything at this market…including pig heads!!

View from up on the mountain

View from up on the mountain

Wild raspberries

Wild raspberries

Kaesespaetzle: little homemade dumplings with Swiss cheese and crispy fried onions. The German variation of mac and cheese, and so much better

Kaesespaetzle: little homemade dumplings with Swiss cheese and crispy fried onions. The German variation of mac and cheese, and so much better

We took a ski lift up to the mountain, and to get down you go down a mountain slide in little sleds...it's so much fun!!

We took a ski lift up to the mountain, and to get down you go down a mountain slide in little sleds…it’s so much fun!!

It was my dad's 50th birthday, and a friend of ours made these amazing homemade apple strudels...

It was my dad’s 50th birthday, and a friend of ours made these amazing homemade apple strudels…

...and some champagne...

…and some champagne…

...and also a cake!! It was a Black Forest Cake: sponge cake, cream, cherries, and chocolate shavings. It looked so amazing we didn't want to cut it!

…and also a cake!! It was a Black Forest Cake: sponge cake, cream, cherries, and chocolate shavings. It looked so amazing we didn’t want to cut it!

We had a party for my dad's 50th: everybody from my German family was there

We had a party for my dad’s 50th: everybody from my German family was there

 

One thought on ““Servus” from Bavaria, Germany!

Leave a comment