Cafe-style Iced Latte

I have a not-so-secret confession to make: I am obsessed with coffee. Especially from fancy overpriced cafes, like Starbucks. I would happily spend over 20 bucks a week to enjoy a 4 dollar Frappuccino every morning. Or Iced Hazelnut Macchiato. *drool*Unfortunately, I don’t have enough money to spend on expensive coffee drinks, and I’m sure many people feel the same way as I do, but don’t want to give up on their beloved rich, milky espresso drinks. So, I’ve been trying to recreate Starbucks-style drinks at home, for almost no cost at all. Beside baking, making coffee drinks is one of my favorite things to do, and there was even a point in my life when I dreamed of becoming a barista.

Anyway, this recipe that I created is pretty darn close to an iced latte at Starbucks. The key is espresso: I have a Nespresso machine at home, which makes it easy to get shots of rich, dark-roasted espresso. If you don’t have an espresso machine, you could substitute cold coffee, left over from the morning.

One shot of espresso, room temperature, then chilled

One shot of espresso, room temperature, then chilled

Sweeten with your choice of sweetener: I like to use flavored syrups, especially Monin syrups from France. They're all natural and are the ones that are used at fancy cafes. I bought mine in Germany, but you can find them on Amazon.

Sweeten with your choice of sweetener: I like to use flavored syrups, especially Monin syrups from France. They’re all natural and are the ones that are used at fancy cafes. I bought mine in Germany, but you can find them on Amazon.

 

Add crushed ice

Add crushed ice

Top with milk...

Top with milk…

...stir, and enjoy!!

…stir, and enjoy!!

_DSC0745

 

Café-Style Iced Latte:

Ingredients:

1 shot of espresso, for example Nespresso brand (medium strength, like Volluto), or leftover strong-brewed coffee

Sweetener to taste: Monin syrup ( I like to use the vanilla one), or any flavored syrup, simple syrup, or Agave nectar ( I tried it, tastes great)

Crushed ice

Milk (I use 2 %, but half-and-half or whole milk would be good as well)

Directions:

  1. Pull one shot of espresso in a tall glass (or brew some strong coffee).
  2. Let espresso come to room temperature, then refrigerate until chilled.
  3. Sweeten to taste with your choice of sweetener: coffee syrup, simple syrup, or Agave nectar.
  4. Add a big handful of crushed ice.
  5. Top with milk until it reaches the top of the glass.
  6. Stir and serve chilled.
Leave a Reply

